top of page

Photography Challenge: Find A Spot In Your Home For A Photoshoot | Model: Nahla Raye

If you're anything like me, you have probably had a moment where you wanted a new photo of yourself or your kids to post to social media. Only, you wanted it to be a really nice one, not the typical cell phone photo; and you wanted it RIGHT THEN, didn't you? Then, you realized you had no desire to actually go anywhere or wait for an appointment with someone. Don't let that bum you out! Let's make this happen!


Don't get me wrong, I would love to do all your photos for you; but, sometimes, mania hits and we want instant gratification. Blame it on our generation, if you want, it's okay.


A few days ago, my youngest was off with her dad; I had finished up all the things I needed to do for the day; and I was trying to watch a webinar I had signed up for. As hard as I tried, I couldn't keep my eyes open. As much as I knew this webinar was beneficial, I couldn't help thinking, "I could be doing something else."


My daughter was upstairs, being amazing, letting me watch my "class", entertaining herself with YouTube. All of a sudden, I realized I could get just as much out of a photoshoot with her, as I could this webinar.. if not more. So, I ran to the stairs and yelled, "Naaaahlaaaa! You want to have a photoshoot!?" There was a long pause, followed by, "Can I wear my flowery dress??" "YES! Go change!"

She got so excited, for the simple fact that it was "US time". Since gaining a little sister, she has really started appreciating time with just the two of us.


While she changed clothes, I through all my larger houseplants in one corner, by a window. That's it. The TV was playing in the background; I had to keep shooing the dogs out of the photo; and two of our blinds are broken, because of the dogs and the toddler. None of that mattered. Our little 4 square feet was all we needed--that, and some conversation.



I told her to close her eyes and imagine that she was in a foot race. She was running as hard as she could, when the runner next to her caught up with her. They were running neck and neck. She kicked it into high gear and picked up her pace. The finish line was within view. Running. Running. The other runner, once again caught up with her. But just as they reached the finish line....

Nahla pooted really hard and it pushed her across the finish line. She WON!!


We talked about books, her favorite stuffed animal, LuLu, and her friends. She told me about things she had forgotten to tell me about summer camp. It was a pretty awesome half hour.


So, again, my challenge for you is to find a spot in your home and create a memory. Then, come back and show me the results. Tag our Facebook page in your images or use #KaileysPhotoChallenge I would love to see what you come up with!


www.facebook.com/photographybykaileytucker

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page